Shop By Team:

Washington Capitals Acrylic Hockey Display Cases - Page 2

Our Washington Capitals Display Cases are exactly what you need to hold and protect your prized hockey pucks, jerseys, helmets and business cards. Each of our products includes an engraved Washington Capitals logo and all our acrylic cases are made in the USA.

Washington Capitals Single Hockey Puck Display Case Washington Capitals Single Hockey Puck Display Case
This specially designed acrylic dust free case features a black base and is perfect for displaying your hockey puck souvenir and includes an engraved Washington

History Of The Washington Capitals

The Washington Capitals were founded in 1974 and joined the NHL that year as an expansion team along with the Kansas City Scouts, which eventually became the New Jersey Devils.

The team was originally owned by Abe Pollin who was also the owner of the NBA Washington Bullets/Wizards. He built the Capital Centre in Landover, Maryland as a place for both the Bullets and Capitals to call home.

At the time that the Capitals entered the league there was a total of thirty teams between the two rival hockey leagues (the NHL and WHA) and as a result, the Capitals did not have a lot of talented players to choose from when it came to drafting players for the hockey team. In fact, most of the successful teams in the NHL were carrying a full roster of experienced veteran players and there was no way the Capitals could compete with salaries to attract any to join their new expansion team.

The franchise did get a firm footing when it was bought by former AOL executive Ted Leonsis in 1999 which brought the team the financing it required in order to draft star players and build a competitive product on ice. This proved to be what the team needed as they earned their first-ever President’s Trophy in the 2009-2010 season.

The Washington Capitals team colors are red, navy and white and they are in the Metropolitan Division of the Eastern Conference.

Top players from the Capitals roster include Peter Bondra (1990-2004), Mike Gartner (1979-1989), Dale Hunter (1987-1999), Rod Langway (1982-1993) and Yvon Labre (1974-1981).

The Washington Capitals have not won a Stanley Cup but have a Presidents' Trophy (2009-2010) one Conference Championship and 8 Division Championships. The Washington Capitals won the 4th annual Winter Classic (2011) with a 3-1 score over Pittsburgh.

Toggle Links
Toll Free (877) 26-CASES (22737)
Close Cart

Your shopping cart is empty!

Free Shipping On Every Order (48 States)